Google Drive: disable download, print, copy

The following is from Google's documentation for Google Drive.

If you don’t want your file to be widely shared, you can disable the option to download, print, or copy it. When someone with view or comment permissions opens the file, these options will be disabled.
To disable these options:
Google Drive
    1. Go to https://drive.google.com.
    2. Select a file or folder.
    3. At the top, click the share icon .
    4. In the bottom right, click Advanced.
    5. Check the box next to "Disable options to download, print, and copy for commenters and viewers."
    6. Click Save changes. People with "view" and "comment" permissions will see these options grayed out.
Docs, Sheets, or Slides
    1. Go to a Docs, Sheets, or Slides home screen.
    2. Open a file.
    3. In the top right, click Share .
    4. In the bottom right, click Advanced.
    5. Check the box next to "Disable options to download, print, and copy for commenters and viewers."
    6. Click Save changes. People with "view" and "comment" permissions will see these options grayed out.
To allow downloads of the file again, uncheck the box next to "Disable options to download, print, and copy for commenters and viewers."
Note: If you choose this option, all entry points for downloading, printing, and copying will be removed from Google Drive, Docs, Sheets, and Slides on all platforms.

comments powered by Disqus